Trek to South America

FAQs:

Where are you going? Montevideo, Uruguay

Where is that? A small country just south of Brazil, Montevideo is the capital city.

UruguaySouthAmericaMap
uruguaymap.facts.co

What are you doing? Research at a university

What kind of research? Potato genetics

How long will you be gone? Two months, I will be back at the end of June

Why are you going? I’m majoring in Agronomy and Global Resource Systems (Globe for short). Globe requires an international internship so I chose to do it somewhere that I could practice my Spanish and study agronomy.

Doesn’t your time in Greece count for that? You were just gone for four months?? No, I was taking classes in Greece, Uruguay is a work experience.

Will your phone work? Yes, my phone will work just like normal so text, snap, or facetime me.

I’m embarking once again to a country unknown. I’ve been working up to an experience like this. My college career has consisted of quite a few travel opportunities, both abroad and stateside. I’ve gone to conferences and I’ve studied. The difference between those trips and this one, is that I’m going by myself and I organized it all by myself this time.

I do owe a few thanks for making this happen, though. First off, to Gretchen, my academic advisor in Agronomy. She knew I had to complete an international internship this summer and took initiative to put me into contact with people that put me into contact with the professor in Uruguay.

Second to Shelley and Catherine, the internship coordinators for Global Resource Systems. They help facilitate the planning and safety measurements of this process. They prepare all the globies for departure through a mandatory pre-internship class that I just finished and then help us digest and present the information in a post-internship class next semester. I also have to thank Gail, Maggie, Emily, and Kevin, other awesome Globe faculty to their commitment to supporting students in these endeavors.

Lastly, to my amazing parents, brother, and family. They have dealt with crazy plane itineraries, airport drop-off and pickup, reminders to call credit card companies, grab cash, charge my laptop, and so many other countless things that would have escaped my brain without them. My little bro, Lane, is a sophomore in high school and deals with me blowing into the house in a small storm every couple of months while I take over the bathroom with my scatter of makeup, shower essentials, and an extra car in the way of his truck. I’m extremely appreciative of their patience to my insane schedule, their willingness to let me leave the comfort of the Midwest, and their full support while I’m sitting on the couch next to them or on a plane headed 5,500 miles away.

My extended family shows continuous support, too. On my day of departure, I received multiple texts of well wishes and safety. They check-in and send me the cutest emojis. Even in the shortest of notice they make me a priority. The day I left for Uruguay, I had to give my grandma a last-minute call with a change of plans and she raced up a half an hour earlier than originally planned to take me to the bus by herself because my mom got sick (a huge thanks to my Grandma Carrie).

All in all, I’m blessed with a strong support system, good friends, and silly family. Welcome to the sitcom of my travels, I hope they bring you a laugh or two or a little insight to a new place.

 

3 Replies to “Trek to South America”

  1. So glad you are continuing your blog! Sounds like you are off to a good start…your mom has filled me in. God bless you dear one.

    Like

Leave a comment